P.O. Box 471 Cooper Station New York, N.Y. 10003 December 5, 1977

TO ALL ORGANIZERS

Dear Comrades,

The election of chapter delegates to the YSA national convention is based on the procedure outlined in the "Call for the Seventeenth National Convention of the Young Socialist Alliance," as amended by the national committee. The call states that "representatives from the chapters shall be as follows: one delegate for the first five members and one delegate for each additional five members or major fraction thereof (three or more members constituting a major fraction)."

Delegate representation is based on the number of members in each chapter as of December 10, 1977, who are in good standing and who have paid the convention assessment. Any member more than one month in arrears in dues ceases to be a member in good standing and cannot vote or be elected as a delegate.

The national executive committee proposes that, at the end of preconvention discussion in each chapter, a vote be taken on a motion to approve or reject the <u>general line</u> of the NEC draft political resolution, "The U.S. Capitalist Offensive and the Tasks of the YSA" (<u>YSA Discussion Bulletin</u>, Volume XXI, Number 2).

If any counterresolutions are presented for a vote in your chapter, then convention delegates would be selected through caucuses as outlined in the provisions for proportional representation in the convention call. However, at this time no counterresolutions have been submitted to the YSA discussion, nor has the national executive committee been informed that any are being prepared. In the absence of counterposed political positions, defined by written resolutions put before the entire membership, voting on delegates is conducted by the chapter as a whole; there are no majority or minority caucuses, even if some comrades abstain or vote against the NEC draft political resolution.

Comradely, Chuch Petro

Chuck Petrin YSA National Office

NEC PROPOSAL FOR COMPOSITION OF NOMINATING COMMISSION

ø

Delegates	Locals and Chapters
2,	Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Tucson
2	New York City
2	Berkeley, Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose
1	Albuquerque, Denver, Salt Lake City
1	Amherst, Boston
1	Atlanta
1	Bloomington, Detroit
1	Champaign-Urbana, Chicago
1	Cincinnati, Cleveland, Lexington
1	Dallas, Houston
1	Edinboro, Morgantown, Pittsburgh
1	Kansas City, St. Louis
1	Madison, Milwaukee
1	Minneapolis
1	Newark, Del., Philadelphia, State College
1	Newark, N.J.
1	New Orleans
1	Portland, Seattle
1	San Antonio
1	Washington, D.C.
20	Total Delegates