New Jersey Delegates to the Convention

Unsigned report in the New York Call, v. 12, no. 241 (Aug. 29, 1919), pg. 7.

The following table shows the votes cast for delegate to the National Emergency Convention to be held in Chicago:

Valentine Bausch, Jersey City, 264. Stephen Bircher, Newark, 272. Charlotte Bohlin, Ridgefield Park, 103. Louis Brandt, Gillette, 292. William H. Derrick, Clifton, 73. Joseph Eicher, Paterson, 39. Ernest Falk, Hoboken, 153. Albert Farr, Whippany, 128. George H. Goebel, Newark, 163. Leo M. Harkins, Camden, 156. Fred Harwood, Newark, 337. Charles J. Hendley, Passaic, 85. Frank Hubschmidt, Paterson, 234. Paul Hueck, Haledon, 77. Milo C. Jones, Newark, 41. Rudolph A. Koller, Elizabeth, 59. Frederick Krafft, Ridgefield, 260. George Ludwig, Jersey City, 96. Sarah E. McLaughlin, Elizabeth, 78. William H. Matthews, Rockaway, 112. Henry Petzold, West Hoboken, 351. Patrick L. Quinlan, Jersey City, 318. William Kane Tallwan, Jersey City, 46. Gustave Thelmer, Elizabeth, 164. Rose Weiss, Newark, 250. Andrew P. Wittel, Belleville, *<omitted>* Louis F. Wolff, 307.

The following were elected as delegates: Valentine Bausch, Stephen Bircher, Fred Harwood, Frank Hubschmidt, Frederick Krafft, Henry Petzold, Patrick L. Quinlan, Rose Weiss, and Louis F. Wolff.

The following alternates were selected: Charlotte Donlin, Ernest Falk, Albert Farr, George H. Goebel, Leo M. Harkins, Milo C. Jones, Leon Josephson, William H. Matthews, Gustave Theimer.

Louis Brandt of Gillette ran fourth on the list, be he was stricken off the list of delegates upon motion of State Secretary Harwood because he had publicly stated that he intended to go as a delegate to a convention in Chicago to organize a rival party to the Socialist Party, to be called the "Communist" Party, on September 1 [1919].

The State Committee voted two weeks ago that the New Jersey delegates were to proceed to the convention to be called to order by National Secretary Germer, and to recognize him as the executive head of the party, in spite of the vote of a group of 9, calling themselves the "NEC," with A. Wagenknecht as "Secretary P.T.," to call the convention at the same time, presided over by Wagenknecht, which will declare itself to be the regular Socialist Party organization.